How is this adapter supposed to stay in place on VarioS 4 return pump?

Leon Gorani

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I bought a new return pipe for my tank and when I opened it up to put it together I was confused on how it is supposed to stay in place. The return line for the water has two adapters, one that screws in and another that slides into that one for use with a smaller return line hose. How is this piece supposed to stay in place without leaking? Am I supposed to silicone it or something? I am new to plumbing tanks so any help will be appreciated! Here are some pics of what I am looking at. The first pic is showing the piece that slides into the other piece, which then screws into the pump. It doesn’t make any sense cause it just slides in and out. The return hose I have is not wide enough to fit over the larger piece, unless I heat it up a lot and try to force it on. Thanks

604F78D6-A52A-431B-9B3B-B4BF705CD62A.jpeg 068864ED-0317-4E89-8A18-EF8F70029CE2.jpeg F93E6ECC-C142-4CB4-9F03-06D4B9965636.jpeg

afartindolphin

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
If you unscrew the cap is the smaller one not a direct replacement for the bigger hose barb that's currently on there?

Silicone alone would not be enough for a long term connection.

OP
OP
Leon Gorani

Leon Gorani

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
If you unscrew the cap is the smaller one not a direct replacement for the bigger hose barb that's currently on there?
No it has no rim around it like the larger barn does, so it just slides through the ring part. Do I need to buy something else for this to work? As you can see the one in the middle slides up and doesn’t move due to the lip it has around the edge.

image.jpg

afartindolphin

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Pvc cement maybe? Seems odd there's not another screw top that fits the smaller barb

OP
OP
Leon Gorani

Leon Gorani

View Badges
Reaction score