How long for Lyretail Anthias to start eating after acclimation?

blackstallion

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Picked up some African Lyretail Anthias this morning, one male and two females. LFS said they were eating frozen PE Mysis. For evening feeding, they didn't take pellets that dispense from the auto feeder, so I threw in one block of frozen PE Mysis. The female's took a couple bites, but the male was not interested, even when it floated past his face. How long can it take before they will start eating regularly?

Jay Hemdal

10K Club member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I typically give them 24 hours and then start to look at some sort of intervention....

Jay

Jay Hemdal

10K Club member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hum, what type of intervention can be taken in making a fish eat?

Many people suggest using garlic or vitamin B12 to try and get fish to feed normally. I'm not a great proponent of that; if the fish doesn't feed normally after 24 hours, I start to look for other symptoms that could be the root cause of the problem. That said, you need to ensure that the food you are offering is the right size and the right type of food. If none of the three anthias are feeding, it may well be that the food you are offering simply isn't correct. If fish look at the food, or take it in and then spit it out, I wonder if the type/size of the food is incorrect. PE mysis may be too large - you could try chopping them up and then trying them. Live baby brine shrimp is a great starter food for anthias, but I understand that folks have issues with getting that.

Jay

OP
OP
blackstallion

blackstallion

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0