How much does it cost you to ship overnight? And what can i do to help reduce it

rocko918

I wanna be a rock star
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
So i shipped out 2 boxes yesterday fedex overnight. Both boxes were 6x6x6 with heat pack, 4 specimen containers half way full, to the midwest from east coast. one was 67 other was 69. I was like whoa, that sucks. I shipped them anyway because i want the corals to get there alive and well. But when i had a price of 100 which included shipping, hurts. Was thinking it would be around 50-55.

I don't ship a ton, what can i do to help reduce the cost without risking the corals.

Thanks for the help.

ReefFrenzy

Shrimp Pimp
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I've been using Fed-Ex for two years and I love them. Unfortunately, to get better discounts you need to ship a lot. We shipped 700+ coolers in 2013 (with almost zero losses BTW) and our discounts keep getting better. There is really no "cheap" way to fly a box around the country via overnight air, and when you start adding heavy things like frozen food it only gets worse.

When your account is set up call and speak to your dedicated rep and explain what type of plan you are looking for. They can tailor one with stronger discounts for ground or air, depending on which you do more of. If you start shipping more they will supply a thermal printer, labels and everything else you need. We live in a rural area and after 14 months of increased volume they added a pick up route to come here for outbound shipments instead of me driving to the drop off everyday.

BTW- The Fed Ex app for the iPhone is awesome.

Good luck.

Larry

EliteReefs

Valuable Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0