How much Dry Rock

DerekJames

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Good Morning Everyone,

I am new to the saltwater hobby and I have been doing lots of research the past year and a half. I have all of my equipment already the only thing that I am having a hard time with is sand and Dry rock. I have a 90 gallon Reef ready tank with the Aqueon ProFlexâ„¢ Modular Sump Filtration Model 4 - 29.25 gallons Volume represents the maximum volume of water that the sump holds when set up in the Refugium configuration. How much dry rock would I need to put into my system. I plan on doing FOWLR for the first year or so to get the hang of the saltwater hobby before is spend the money on corals I want to make sure i have the hang of things. Now when it comes to sand i really like the look of the Florida Crushed Coral. I have it in my 40 gallon Cichlid tank and love the look and also has stabilized my PH and also love the extra surface area for beneficial Bacteria. I know for certain fish like Sand Sifting Gobies you cant go to big with the sand grains but i dont want anything small that will get blown around my tank. Any advise will be greatly appreciated.

Thanks,
Derek Authement

cdness

2006 - Present
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Well I made the mistake in my 75G with the 1 - 1.5 pounds per gallon... I ordered 120 pounds of dry rock from BRS and it was WAY too much... It weighs less when dry, DUH!

So for a 90 gallon I would start with 50 - 60 pounds dry... Build the aquascape how you want it and have a few extra pieces. It's better to have enough to make what you want than run out and have to order more...

Last edited:

sureal00

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I wasted way too much in live rock in the beginning.I would agree 50-60 in the beginning and build an aquascape you like and buy more rock if needed.

kfoerster

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0