How often to use Phytofeast?

Krixic

A Tad Obsessed
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Ok so im pretty new to aquarium nutrition. Im trying to create and establish a steady copepod population. Just bought some from a local reefer and should be coming next week. I have phytofeast which I plan on using to feed the pods along with my filter feeders. Its says to use it daily 1-5 drops per gallon which to me seems like alot. Im not even sure if phyto feast is the best option to feed pods. Is there such a thing as seeding phytoplankton to be self sustaining?

On a separate note,, I also feed corals reef roids once or twice a week at most. Are there other/better brands I should look into for coral nutrition?

ichthyogeek

Valuable Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Interestingly, I think it depends on what you consider to be "a lot." I personally like the pod water to be tinted fairly green, which requires 10-20+ drops/gallon.

You should know that technically your tank already produces phytoplankton. But your goal here, is to supplement the algal growth the copepods are nomming on. If you were to boost phyto growth to increase the pod population in your tank, you might be concerned about your tank being "too" full of phytoplankton and want to get rid of it.

@ThePurple12 feeds spirulina instead of phytofeast, and I think spirulina might be more cost-efficient as well.

OP
OP
Krixic

Krixic

A Tad Obsessed
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I feed 30 drops of it daily in my 20 gal and everything seems to be fine.

I see! Just seemed a bit much to me but ill give it a shot.

Interestingly, I think it depends on what you consider to be "a lot." I personally like the pod water to be tinted fairly green, which requires 10-20+ drops/gallon.