How to better disolve dow flakes?

Greenstarfish03

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I have been using dow flakes for many years and it's never really dissolved very well and I was wondering if this just the way it is or if there is a trick to get it to dissolve completely. It would probably lead to more consistency if it dissolved completely. I use 1000g to 4 gallons of water usualy. I use an old formula from Randy I belive.

KrisReef

10K Club member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I dissolve MgCl or MgSO4 in saltwater and those dissolve completely? Mg is highly soluble. I used to use some reefsalt mixes that left a could in the container and it turns out that is clay (used to keep the salt from clumping together). I suppose that Dowflake has some impurities in it (like the salt) that will not dissolve, otherwise I believe magnesium salts (pure) would not leave a residue until the MG was supersaturated. If you add more water and still have a residue then your magflake has impurities.

hth.
Jon Heder Reaction GIF by reactionseditor
Bump!

OP
OP
Greenstarfish03

Greenstarfish03

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I dissolve MgCl or MgSO4 in saltwater and those dissolve completely? Mg is highly soluble. I used to use some reefsalt mixes that left a could in the container and it turns out that is clay (used to keep the salt from clumping together). I suppose that Dowflake has some impurities in it (like the salt) that will not dissolve, otherwise I believe magnesium salts (pure) would not leave a residue until the MG was supersaturated. If you add more water and still have a residue then your magflake has impurities.

hth.
Jon Heder Reaction GIF by reactionseditor
Bump!