How to identify SPS

xiongsy

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I'm new to sps. I only have a 24 gallon nano and want to 2-3 featured milleporas with the limited space that the tank has. I'm looking at the selling thread for awhile now and the sps are mostly listed with a name, e.g. JF XXXX.

How do I know or how can I tell if they are milleporas? I've tried looking up the name with "colony" but it hardly comes up with a colony picture.

While you're here, if you only get to select 2-3 milleporas, what would you get?

Gtinnel

10K Club member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I’m far from a acro expert but with millepora each corallite will have one tentacle that is longer than the rest. There may be others that do that as well but most of the ones you see in the hobby will have the same length tentacles besides millepora.
Here is a picture I found on google where you can see the longer tentacles pretty easily.

B22E713D-64A4-4D20-A70B-2F1BB28C725B.jpeg

Last edited:
OP
OP
xiongsy

xiongsy

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
OP
OP
xiongsy

xiongsy

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I’m far from a acro expert but with millipora each corallite will have one tentacle that is longer than the rest. There may be others that do that as well but most of the ones you see in the hobby will have the same length tentacles besides millipora.
Here is a picture I found on google where you can see the longer tentacles pretty easily.
So, correct me if I am wrong. A PC rainbow a mille? The photo attached (currently listed in the selling thread va dr. Jim) is a mille? I don't think a oregon tort is a mille? Sorry, still trying to figure it out.

Attachments

• 2959796-34cc8a32336a3690aca4547a62b010b0.jpg
    2959796-34cc8a32336a3690aca4547a62b010b0.jpg
    30.3 KB · Views: 43
OP
OP
xiongsy

xiongsy

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0