I tanked my Phosphates with Microbacter Clean.. Do I have Dino's now?

Voodoo288

New Member
View Badges
Joined
Apr 18, 2021
Messages
7
Reaction score
0
Location
Richmond
So I'm right in the ugly phase with my 3 month old Biocube 32g. I've been fighting back my hair algae with Microbacter Clean for about 3 weeks now. I just realized you don't really want Nitrates and Phosphates to actually hit 0 (definitely a newbie mistake). Currently sitting at 10PPM Nitrates and 0 on a Hanna Phosphorus ULR, don't think you can go lower than that haha.

I need help identifying if this is the start of Dino's or am I misidentifying hair algae or cyano

IMG_1801.jpg IMG_1803.jpg IMG_1800.jpg
 

Attachments

  • IMG_1802.mov
    4.2 MB · Views: 0
Fritz

Kai K

Community Member
View Badges
Joined
Nov 21, 2020
Messages
39
Reaction score
63
Location
Amsterdam
+1 on raising PO4.
When your PO4 is up and balanced with your NO3, boost your bacteria, pods and phyto as much as possible and outcompete the dino's.

Your tank is only a couple of months old, so this type of imbalance is not out of the ordinary and will probably happen a few more times as your tank slowly swings towards an equilibrium. It's just a matter of recognizing the signs early on and taking long term measures.
 
OP
Voodoo288

Voodoo288

New Member
View Badges
Joined
Apr 18, 2021
Messages
7
Reaction score
0
Location
Richmond
+1 on raising PO4.
When your PO4 is up and balanced with your NO3, boost your bacteria, pods and phyto as much as possible and outcompete the dino's.

Your tank is only a couple of months old, so this type of imbalance is not out of the ordinary and will probably happen a few more times as your tank slowly swings towards an equilibrium. It's just a matter of recognizing the signs early on and taking long term measures.
Should I dose Microbacter7 again and boost it that way?
 
Champion Lighting & Supply

zuri

Active Member
View Badges
Joined
Aug 11, 2017
Messages
407
Reaction score
230
yuppers if you really had 0 phos you would be phosphate bound no nitrates
 

SPR1968

No, it wasn’t expensive dear....
View Badges
Joined
Feb 21, 2017
Messages
14,504
Reaction score
92,513
Location
Nottinghamshire England
If you have GHA is probably caused by raised phosphate levels and as its used up you will get a zero test reading

So if you want an hair algae garden just keep adding phosphate If not look into phosphate removal methods or more frequent water changes

You dont need to dose anything all you have to do is maintain water quality and parameters thats it.

oh and just noticed this is an old thread…
 
Fritz

Have you ever had a reef tank with no sump and how did it go?

  • YES and it was just fine

    Votes: 374 58.7%
  • YES but it was difficult

    Votes: 111 17.4%
  • NO

    Votes: 140 22.0%
  • Other (please explain)

    Votes: 12 1.9%
Champion
Top