I think I got it!....wait no I don’t...

Deiblerj

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
so after many posts and hours of aimless research on the internet ive finally discovered, to the best of my knowledge, I have an imbalance in my tank.

New to the hobby I was naive about proper parameters and only knew that ammonia, nitrates, and phosphates should be low. Sounds easy...Lets roll baby! Little did I know that when people said low they didn’t mean 0 ppm. Ha! Jokes on me for trying to have a perfectly clean tank.

After a few Dino outbreaks and countless attempts to correct my system (hand scrubbed every rock in that sucker) I’ve come to the realization that I am my own culprit. So now I must, as much as it pains me, make my tank “dirty”.;NailbitingNOOOOO!!

I shut off my skimmer temporarily and removed the carbon/GFO bag - both of which my LFS insisted I have (gee, thanks man - not helping the issues).

I was also swindled into buying an autodoser and aquaforest component 123. Stillllll collecting dust next to tank until I get my other parameters in check.

Back to my research! “Feed more, turn off skimmer, dose this, dose that, don’t do that, do this!” Holy crap!! There are a lot of different opinions out there (ironically I say that as I type this up in an online forum, DOH!)

However, my back is against the wall and I’m running out of steam (my girlfriend is also losing patients quickly with me and this sometimes god forsaken hobby I got myself into).

So my fellow reefmates, aquarist, friends-of-the-fish, coral collaborators, and sandsifting scholars, please help me!!!!!!!

I’m very hesitant on starting AF 123 until I get my nitrates and phosphates in check, however, I’m not sure what the best approach to do that is. I feel like feeding more or turning off my skimmer is like putting a band aide over a Kill Bill victims minor flesh wound...it’s not going to do much in the long run.