I used uncured mildew inhibiting silicone on my bulkheads that came into contact with my water over a few hours.

T4ylor

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Ive drained the water, and removed the silicone where it was applied.
This is my first tank and im new to reef keeping, what do i need to do to make sure none of the chemicals affect my tank?
ive been told on reddit to replace all my rocks and sand, replace the fittings the silicone was on and run carbon.

The_Paradox

Valuable Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Was the silicone cured when you added water? If so you didn’t even need to remove it. If it wasn’t cured anything that didn’t die already will be fine.

OP
OP
T

T4ylor

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
it was not cured the silicone had only been applied a couple hours before hand. i have no fish in and havent even cycled my tank yet so i have no livestock at risk. My tank was filled with rodi water for a test run before i mixed in the salt, therefore i want to know whether my rocks and sand are contaminated and need to be removed as the silicone on the website says harmful to aquatic life with long lasting effects. ps i have already drained the water

The_Paradox

Valuable Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
it was not cured the silicone had only been applied a couple hours before hand. i have no fish in and havent even cycled my tank yet so i have no livestock at risk. My tank was filled with rodi water for a test run before i mixed in the salt, therefore i want to know whether my rocks and sand are contaminated and need to be removed as the silicone on the website says harmful to aquatic life with long lasting effects. ps i have already drained the water

You’re fine. A million things to worry about with a new tank but this is not one of them.

OP
OP
T

T4ylor

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0