Introducing anemone & clown fish.

SeaJay

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I had an ich outbreak and lost my cinnamon clown. I wasn't prepared. By the time I caught it and figured out what to do, it was too late for the clown. Now I'm going through the 76 day fallow period with my remaining fish in QT to make sure I get it right this time. I'm fairly new to this and have learned a few lessons the hard way. I thought I was doing really well with a 135g tank & healthy fish, but I introduced some LFS water to my DT with some copepods I bought. Lesson learned and trying to make sure I plan a little better in the future.

When the tank is all clear again and fish are ready to go home, I want to replace the clown, this time with an anemone. Is there already a thread here that outlines the best way to go about this? If so, someone could just point me in that direction.

Otherwise, Do I introduce them at the same time, or does one come before the other? What about the QT procedures for the anemone?

Thanks!

James M

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
There’s no guarantee that the anemone will host the clownfish... that being said you can add the clowns or nem first
You will have a higher chance with natural host

Last edited:

Huff747

Valuable Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 100%
1   0   0
There's a "What's with what" thread that lists which anemones/clownfishes are a natural match - https://www.reef2reef.com/threads/whats-with-what.40954/

FWIW my clowns which I assume are just plain ocellaris started off in a corner of the tank. Then moved to a Duncan, and finally on to my anemone probably a couple months, maybe longer, after adding the anemone.

OP
OP
SeaJay

SeaJay

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
There's a "What's with what" thread that lists which anemones/clownfishes are a natural match - https://www.reef2reef.com/threads/whats-with-what.40954/