Inverters: How many of you use them as a back Power Source ?

Finatik

FINatik about my Tanks !
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Inverters: How many of you use them as a back Power Source ? Show us your set-up.
51UEIMzC+6L._SY400_.jpg

https://www.amazon.com/gp/aw/d/B01M...X236_SY340_QL65&keywords=2000w+power+inverter
I'm thinking of getting one of these 2000 watt Pure Sine Wave Inverters along with a couple of Deep Cycle batteries to power the two 500w heaters I have on my 120 gallon tank. I have VorTech battery backups for the MP40s to maintain aeration and circulation. (I live in an apartment, so a generator is not an option for me.)
Anybody else using Power Inverters ?
Please share your set-up. Pics too !

revhtree

Owner Administrator
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 100%
1   0   0
How long would it last you think?

OP
OP
Finatik

Finatik

FINatik about my Tanks !
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0

First, let me say that I am not an electrician, or electrical expert. My understanding of this topic comes from my research, and from talking to people who "are" electricians.

So... the answer to your question depends on a lot of things like:

1) The size (capacity) of the Inverter. The size you choose should be based on the watts (or amps) of the devices you want to run.

2) The type of Inverter: Modified Sine Wave, or Pure Sine Wave. For use with aquarium devices, it is best to use Pure Sine Wave.

3) Type of battery you use with the inverter: Automotive or Deep Cycle. Deep Cycle batteries last longer and can handle more load than automotive batteries. For use with aquarium devices, it is best to use Sealed AGM Deep Cycle batteries.

4) The rated amp hours of the battery you are going to use (90, 125, 160 or 220).

5) The combined watt value of the aquarium devices you plan to run. (Two 300 watt heaters would have a combined watt value of 600 watts).