Just talked myself off of the ledge

Yates273

Valuable Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I have been battling GHA for about 7 months now! It has driven me crazy. I tried reef flux no luck. Weekly water changes with manual removal. It still comes back and alway finds its way on some of my frags that I have to dip in H2o2 to remove it. It seems like whatever I do is not good enough to get rid of the GHA.
My parameters are as follows:
Ph 8.33
Temp 78
Alk 8.58
Cal. 414
Mag 1295
Nitrate has been steady at about 5 ppm since carbon dosing
Phosphates are .02 which may be higher due to GHA.
I started running GFO again since it couldn’t hurt. I know everything takes patience and time, but this GHA is relentless. Today I was looking at my bottle of Vibrant and figured others have had great success with using this for GHA so I decided to take my Refugium offline and start dosing Vibrant at 1 ml per 10 gallons. Just as I was about to begin dosing I did a little more reading about it and decided against it. I really don’t want to add an Algaecide to my tank, but good god I am at my wits end with this GHA! Guess I may just keep doing what I have been doing and hope my tank finds its happy place.

Fish Think Pink

5000 Club Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I have been battling GHA for about 7 months now! It has driven me crazy. I tried reef flux no luck. Weekly water changes with manual removal. It still comes back and alway finds its way on some of my frags that I have to dip in H2o2 to remove it. It seems like whatever I do is not good enough to get rid of the GHA.
My parameters are as follows:
Ph 8.33
Temp 78
Alk 8.58
Cal. 414
Mag 1295
Nitrate has been steady at about 5 ppm since carbon dosing
Phosphates are .02 which may be higher due to GHA.