KonradTO's Student's Tank- Fluval flex 32.5 AIO

KonradTO

Valuable Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hi everyone!
I am KonradTO, I am Italian but let's say I live in EU, as I change home quite often depending on where "wind blows".
This is my first saltwater tank. Before I had many freshwater tanks, terrariums and paludariums, but I was always scared of the costs of saltwater.
I decided to add my experience to the build threads moltitude because I love DIYing and also I aimed cheap (at least, I tried). So maybe someone will find some useful info about my experience.
So, lets start! I decided to go for a "big" nano, a 32g fluval flex AIO tank for freshwater. As I mentioned I travel a lot (I am a phD student, so no permanent positions in sight) therefore I need something cheap that I can "easily" move to another house every 2-3 years. This limits a bit what I can stock the tank with.
Nevertheless I really liked the design with the "inverse" bow front glass and the fact that the lid was so tight that I did not need any ATO. So I went to the store, picked up the tank, its own cabinet, some sand, biomedia and filter material, tests for cycling (the same is done with freshwater) and the first salt mix I found (Red Sea Coral Pro...). Also I had from previous works a 50w heater and a canister filter (Tetra EX600plus), and a 3 stages RODI system.
(08/2021)
At this point I had the tank cycling with washed sand, the 50W heater and the canister filter filled with sponges, biomedia (seachem matrix and bioballs), and filter floss.
In the filter chambers I added some biomedia and left the default sponges from Fluval.