LFS Brown Acros-- Will they color up again?

stlcard

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hi everyone,

new here to reef2reef. love the site. Wish i had frequented it more often as the other big forum.

My LFS has alot of Acro mini colonies. They have zero necrosis, they are just all browned out. I cant really see much color except for the base where the new encrusting growth has started. They are great sizes for the price.

Will these regain color in a new system, once they settle in? Or are they doomed forever? I have no experience reviving SPS, just LPS.

BillyC

Valuable Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
IME you will be waiting for a long long time to color up a maricultured acro. Some will never color up at all ever. The new growth is a different story. Unless your ok with a brown coral in your tank for what seems like forever, don't do it!

Rob.D

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
IME you will be waiting for a long long time to color up a maricultured acro. Some will never color up at all ever. The new growth is a different story. Unless your ok with a brown coral in your tank for what seems like forever, don't do it!

I agree, I have purchased several brown mariculture acros direct from the wholesaler's and I have experienced three different results.
1. The coral stayed brown after several months.
2. The coral colored up to a drab unattractive olive green.
3. The coral was brown due to stress from AEFW's and in two such cases, I didn't bother saving the coral, they went strait in the trash. I know that sounds harsh but I have a 120 filled with SPS and a $10 acro had the potential to wipe out a tank full of SPS.

chort55

unregistered
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0