Little baffled on what is going on at the moment...

William Robinson

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Little history: I am not new to reef aquariums and have enough knowledge to be "dangerous". This is the 4th running system in my home and seems to be the only one I am having issues with.
I am NEW to automated dosing other than just performing water changes and with 4 tanks you can probably understand why I've decided to finally embrace the technology. I started tank number 4 with essentially things I already had. 75% of the water came from "old" water from other tanks, approximately 50% - 60% of the live rock came from other tanks with the remaining coming from cured rock (no coraline growing). The entire rest of the setup was new (heaters, pumps, WM's, ETC) I expected to see calcium being consumed rather quickly along with Alk and magnesium due to the spread of coraline etc. The tank is mixed reef (10~%SPS, 20~%LPS and rounding up the rest with softies). As Ive let the tank go the past month plotting and charting the loss of elements setting up my daily dosing here is what I have found (or not found ) and struggling with.

Test kit : Salifert, Red Sea and cheap ole API. pH with calibrated Hanna and Salifert

Current Automated Dosing;
2mL of Acropower, daily at 5PM
2mL of BRS Soda Ash for Alk) I plan on increasing this by 1mL this afternoon after seeing the decline once I plotted this out)
2-24-2020 7-04-14 AM.jpg

The 0.5 cups of IORC added on the chart 2/16 was into my ATO water which was exhausted in 2-3 days to get target SG to 1.025.(Still working that up)

Calcium holding steady???
2-24-2020 7-30-02 AM.jpg

Magnesium-Increasing Mg but I have not dosed this?
2-24-2020 7-04-53 AM.jpg

Falling pH (plan on dosing Aquavito 8.4 to bring it up a bit but Im not going to chase it. The last plotted test was not performed at my usual 5PM so it may be apart of the natural rise and fall.
2-24-2020 7-05-15 AM.jpg