live sand question needed answered

gypsyvybz14

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hello everyone,

I am new to this hobby and I was going to start a salt water coral tank and eventually get fish. But for starters I needed to just get the aquarium set up and cycled before I start. I would like some questions answered and I know this is the right site for that. The first question I have is about my live sand.

I bought Original Grade Ocean Direct Live Reef Sand
I bought it a little too soon. But When I kept it stored somehow a hole was made at the back of the bag. This sand is normally wet and h moisture in the bag. When I went to move it I noticed the bag was dried out.

Is this ok to still use? I was going to put in my aquarium to start cycling and get it perfect flow and aqua-scape before adding my coral. Would this effect my benefits of the live sand? would anything come back to life>? would it matter if I am going to have live rock anyway.?

Thanks for the feed back

livinlifeinBKK

5000 Club Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hello everyone,

I am new to this hobby and I was going to start a salt water coral tank and eventually get fish. But for starters I needed to just get the aquarium set up and cycled before I start. I would like some questions answered and I know this is the right site for that. The first question I have is about my live sand.

I bought Original Grade Ocean Direct Live Reef Sand
I bought it a little too soon. But When I kept it stored somehow a hole was made at the back of the bag. This sand is normally wet and h moisture in the bag. When I went to move it I noticed the bag was dried out.

Is this ok to still use? I was going to put in my aquarium to start cycling and get it perfect flow and aqua-scape before adding my coral. Would this effect my benefits of the live sand? would anything come back to life>? would it matter if I am going to have live rock anyway.?

Thanks for the feed back