Living room display tank build

AquaHaven

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hi everybody!

This will be my ongoing project to create a display tank in my living room and make it a mixed coral with assortment of fish aquarium. This thread will serve to show the my progress.

A little bit of my background. I was on the freshwater side for years and was toying with an idea of starting a saltwater tank. Done few months of research and went in. I'm still very new to this, having only started about 3 months ago.

My first "reef" tak was a Fluval Flex 13 gallon tank. It quickly dawned on me that this will not be enough. Right after that I went for a 20 gallon tank and started the cycle using a Red Seas Reef Mature Pro kit. This went really good and looked like that:

IMG_0665.JPEG

I used couple of pieces of live rock I got from a friend and after just over 3 weeks, the tank was cycled. Live rock introduced a whole boat loads of issues though. There were fire worms, some algae, and it ended on bryopsis.

Then a disaster hit and the back of the tank started cracking. In panick, I got a second hand, 40 gallon Juwel aquarium in a hurry (that's a second size upgrade now) and transferred everything, apart from live rock. I also broke apart that huge rock to create something with more visual appeal to me, and more hiding spots. Now, it looked like that:

IMG_0144.JPEG