Low alk / high calcium issue

Djkoleohn

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
hi I’m new to reef tanks but have been researching a lot . I’ve been testing my water daily for the past couple weeks and can’t seem to figure out how to lower my calcium while raising my alk . The past 4 days my alk has steadily dropped from 7.62 down to 7.17 today while my calcium has been up over 500ppm .... when I first started to test my water alk was right at 9dkh and calcium was 480 . That was about a month ago , since then I added sps frags and noticed my calcium raise ? The past 2 weeks I’ve started to dose just the alk part b-ionic 2 part hoping calcium would lower to the point that I’d be able to dose equally .... I keep raising the amount I’m dosing and literally it keeps dropping . I’m up to dosing 180 ml a day of alk busy still dropping .... is this a normal amount ? I would have expected it to be a lot less . Would love to have my tank at stable 9dkh and about 420 cal

Alk 7.17
Cal 500+
Mag 1425
Ph 8.2
Po4 .17

OP
OP
D

Djkoleohn

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Here’s a pic of my tank to get an idea of how many frags are in it

705B1731-E4E3-4075-B6B0-815FE08D9A4E.jpeg

Mike Reef Addict

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0