lps, sps???

Matthew40

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
image.jpg

So I’m a complete newbie at this, I’m at the point now where my tank has cycled and coraline is starting to grow. Although I’m a beginner I feel I have a good grasp on keeping stable parameters…should I stick to beginner softies? I feel like I’ve gone above and beyond with my refugium setup, my lighting, and my flow…has anyone started off with sps or should I wait like a year before I start sps? I’m in no rush to start adding corals and I probably won’t be adding any for maybe a month or so…Thanks in advance!!

BlennyTime

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I’d start with LPS or softies and make sure you can keep them happy with dosing/lighting/etc first. SPS requires more stability and attention. No need to wait a year though.

alxrosco

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
It looks very nice, and you don‘t have to wait a year to add SPS, you just need to provide the correct conditions, water quality, flow, light, nutrition, etc. You could start with SPS corals such as a Pavona, some montiporas, bird’s nest, stylophoras, etc. Some acroporas are easy to care for. You can also start with some LPS, such as hammer corals. I have a mix reef tank, and has been running for 10 years, but for some reason, there are some corals that do not good in my tank, such as ricordias, which are supposed to be easy to care for. A lot to learn for sure, but so far your tank looks good.

OP
OP
Matthew40

Matthew40

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0