Macroalgae Needed?

smd189

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I have searched everywhere for what seems like it should be a common topic but I cannot find the answer. I am brand new to the hobby and currently working a fish only tank. Mid cycle right now. Being new, I am trying to simplify the process as much as possible.

I have a refugium in my sump and have read about macroalgae helping with nitrates but also about issues including clogging, being hard to grow, lighting issues, etc.

My question is is macroalgae needed? Are their other options, etc.

Thank you for any advice and if I missed this topic somewhere please point me in the correct direction. Thx

Shawn

Spare time

10K Club member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Macro algae is the easiest thing you can do to help clean the tank. What you need is a proper light, clean macroalgae, and thats it. It is a good idea to add something like iron to help it but otherwise water changes should add back trace elements like that.

It isn't needed but its how people like me get away with little to no water changes (or at least one of the ways). If you do get it, you can add it sometime after you get fish.

SMSREEF

Valuable Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Macroalgae are great at reducing nutrients in established tanks.

are they needed, no. Other options, protein skimmer, water changes, nutrient reducing media.

With a new tank, I would wait till I had elevated nitrate and phosphate before adding macros to a fuge. if you add them too soon, your nutrients may go too low and lead to problems.

Also be aware that macros need other elements so you will need to do water changes and/or supplement the elements they need.

OP
OP
S

smd189

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0