Male melanurus getting aggressive

CMatlosz

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I came home today to find my female leopard wrasse in my overflow box. I figured maybe she got spooked and jumped, luckily I have a screen top which kept her in the tank, somewhat anyways.

So after some cursing and struggling I caught her in the overflow and back into the display she went. Immediately I noticed why she was in the overflow...seemingly overnight my larger male melanurus decided he didn't like her around. I observed him chasing her around my 120 for about 15 minutes on and off before she gave up and dove into the sand for the night (it was almost lights out anyways). I'm a little confused by this behavior since they've been together for close to 6 months with hardly any aggression.

This is my first time with a melanurus, I didn't think they were a particularly aggressive species. Has anyone experienced this before? Comments, suggestions? If it comes down to it I would remove the melanurus, the female leopard is beautiful and one of my favorite fish.

Matthew Dambra

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
My melanurus wrasse is slightly aggressive towards my six line and also my fairy wrasse especially when he thinks its feeding time, other than feeding time he does not bother the other wrasses

eatbreakfast

Fish Nerd
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Individual melanurus wrasses can vary as far as aggression goes. As they or other wrasses in the tank mature, dynamics and relationships between fish can change.

evolved

[email protected]
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Individual melanurus wrasses can vary as far as aggression goes. As they or other wrasses in the tank mature, dynamics and relationships between fish can change.
+1

It's also possible that your leopard wrasse has begun to transition to male, and this can be enough to upset the balance between these two individuals.