Mandarin Care and Feeding for A Newbie

TerryLowe

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hi all. I just purchased a tank from a person that was getting out of the hobby. I had a freshwater tank before but this is my first go at a salt tank. I've had the tank for only four days. The clown, starfish, and cardinal all eat like pigs. They gobble up the frozen food before it can drift down to the mandarin (He looks happy but I have not seen him eat a bite) I've searched the forums and I am a bit confused as I am still learning "aquarium keeper speak". I am waiting on a return text from the prior owner. I am hoping he is not brand new and has already been trained to eat

*how do I train a fish to eat?
*what is the best food? Is it available online? Do I pour live critters in my tank for him or try to offer frozen treats?
*how do I get the food down to him without the other fish gobbling it up.
*do I need to use a feeding station? Sink a jar into my tank?
*how can any creature be so darn beautiful?

Be gentle. This is only my second post other than my introduction post.

My setup:
-125 gallon tank
-2 big under cabinet closed filter doodads (no sump)
-lots of live rock and sand with snails and hermit crabs
-hang on back protein skimmer
-water chemistries are all still normal except the salt went high after transport (wondering if sloshing the water and tank may have caused some solid salt to go into solution, but that is for another topic)

Terry

9aha9y2u.jpg

SunCorals

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I have had mine for about 5 years now and he is still my favorite fish. From my understanding they will be fine as long as you have cpods living in your sump(I do) therefore they reproduce and keep my guy happy. I also hear they are a hit and miss fish like a copperband, also you need to make sure your tank is quite established. ...here is a pic of my buddy.

Attachments

• 1377745009941.jpg
    1377745009941.jpg