Media Reactor Size: Usage vs Maximum?

MantisShrimpMan

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I know that with a lot of equipment in this hobby- lights, return pumps, powerheads, etc.- it makes sense to buy an oversized model and run it at a lower output percentage, as opposed to relying on running a model that has a max spec at your goal level at 100% intensity.

I am new to media reactors, and I am unsure whether the logic for sizing them would be the same. Here is the specific instance I’m looking at.

For a roughly 32 gallon aquarium, if I were to run BRS high capacity GFO in an innovative marine minimax desktop media reactor: according to BRS guidelines, I’d be looking at 8 Tablespoons of GFO in the reactor. 8 tablespoons translates to 118 mL. The innovative Marine minimax desktop size listed specs say it can hold up to approximately 150 mL of media. That works out to approximately 78.6% capacity.

While I’m not an expert on the matter of GFO specifically, I’m of the view from other reefing matters that sometimes reefers have no issue going beyond usage recommendations? So, let’s just say I pack my tank dense and it ends up being a phosphate producing machine. Would it be okay, and relatable, to end up at like 10 Tablespoons for the same amount of water despite only being recommended 8? And, in that case, that puts me pretty much right up against the max that reactor can hold.

So I’m wondering if this is alright or if I would be far better off with the next size up, which holds 300mL of media.