Mixing magnesium

Lee belk

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hi I’m new to keeping coral and very interested in keeping different types in my tank I’m wanting to know how to mix magnesium’s together like
Mag chloride
Mag sulphate to a ratio that can be used very simply when I have test my mag levels how much water i need to both products weight and if someone could tell me why you can’t just use one or the other for long term because to what I have been reading it causes problems as time passes I’ve tried to make sense of it all but it’s a bit overwhelming to take so much in at one time would using one over the other cause algae I’ve read this somewhere but I haven’t got a clue what to believe if some one could help me out it would be appreciated and the knowledge gained would be applied to other people seeking help

DanyL

Valuable Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
The reason why you’d want to use a mix of both is due to ionic balance. There are people over here that would likely be able to explain it better than I do, and I’ll leave it for them.

As for a recipe, this is what I’ve been using for over a decade now:
Magnesium Chloride Hexahydrate: 300g
Magnesium Sulphate Heptahydrate: 180g

These are the amounts to make a 1 liter solution, which would total at around 545ppm per 100L, or 5ml per 100L for an increase of 9ppm.

OP
OP
L

Lee belk

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
The reason why you’d want to use a mix of both is due to ionic balance. There are people over here that would likely be able to explain it better than I do, and I’ll leave it for them.

These are the amounts to make a 1 liter solution, which would total at around 545ppm per 100L, or 5ml per 100L for an increase of 9ppm