More than one lionfish in a 120g? Stocking question

caesarino

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hello there,

I am currently thinking about getting more fish for my 120g/500l (without sump volume) tank (51x24x24in / 130x60x60cm). I currently have a dwarf zebra lion, a large melanurus wrasse, a tomini tang and a small copperband in there. Could I get more fish or am I already capped out? And if more fish are possible what fish could I add? I was thinking about getting one or two more lions but different species and/or an snowflake eel. What would you recommend me? I am open for any input.

Thanks for your answers! Have a nice day!

Edit 1: My tank is a reef tank so keeping non coral safe fish is not my intention.

Last edited:

waterboys

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Let me start by saying I’m new to reefing and really don’t know anything. Just sharing a video I found of a 40 gallon breeder tank with 3 lion fish. I would assume that this tank is way to small for this much going on, but it was a featured tank by marine depot. This example is likely the exception to the rule and probably not advisable.

Last edited:
OP
OP
C

caesarino

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Let me start by saying I’m new to reefing and really don’t know anything. Just sharing a video I found of a 40 gallon breeder tank with 3 lion fish. I would assume that this tank is way to small for this much going on, but it was a featured tank by marine depot. This example is likely the exception to the rule and probably not advisable.

This exact video was my inspiration that brought up my idea of getting a real predator reef. Of course this tank is mostly filled with leathers but it is unbelievable gorgeous. I am also the opinion that theres too much going on in this small tank thats one of the reasons why I was asking about wheter it is possible to get more fish in that tank or if I am already capped.