My 90g Reef

wit

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hello this is my first build thread here and thread in general. I've been on the forum but haven't shown my stuff yet. I'll introduce you to my main reef display but first I'll introduce myself. Skip this if you just want to see the setup and juicy stuff. I've been in the aquarium hobby for a pretty short time. About three years now but I feel like I've learned a lot in those years. Two of those have been working in a local fish store and that in itself has taught me many many things. I have mostly freshwater tanks but since setting up this 90g which is very close to reaching 1 year of age I have definitely put the majority of my focus in the reef world. I have 5 freshwater tanks which I wont go into detail here and as of recently 2 reef displays, and two saltwater holding/quarantine tanks. I've had two reef tanks in the past but they did not stay with me long. One was a little 5g and one was a 30g. I didn't keep these tanks up for very long, not due to failure but lack of interest. I suppose it was the small size of the tanks that I could not do much with them and lost interest within months of owning each of them. They were simple with HOB filters and easy corals. I only got to keeping the good beginner corals like kenya trees, frogspawn, zoas etc... I would go back and forth between being focused on them and sort of ignoring them and in the end took them down before long. Before too long I had started thinking about another reef tank and was planning on getting around a 40g cube tank. Coincidentally my store had a sudden call for a tank tear down of a 90g reef tank. It came with a lot of bells and whistles. It had the old apex lite with it and taking it all apart was going to take a good amount of man hours and I was offered a good deal for the setup. The only things that I didn't get with it was 3 mp-10s, the lights, and auto top off. I got pretty much everything I needed to get is started. Just