Need advice on moving a nano reef tank? No fish yet

Elle.michelle

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
So my friend knows the owner of my favorite lfs and is getting me a ridiculous deal on a loaded 28 gallon starphire glass cube tank thats been running in his shop for a few years with live rock, live sand, some hermit crabs and a couple pieces of coral (I've been dying to start a saltwater tank and I can actually afford it now ). He told me he would even hook me up with some buckets of mixed water.

What do you think the best way to move this tank will be to ensure the safety if the coral and crabs? I have 6 10gal buckets to work with...

How likely is it that the tank won't start the cycling process over if I keep the sand and rocks in the water in buckets while moving?

I have everything I need and have been studying everything I can about saltwater tanks, I have a good idea of the basics from working with freshwater tanks for 6 years. I am very new with saltwater so I am trying my best not to make mistakes.

I will wait to get the tank stabilized before adding a pair of clowns.

DrinkinPepsi

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
best way i was able to move my 20 was move all live stock to bags. i put the rock and water in a cooler ( you could use buckets) and leave the sand in the tank...best not to disterbe the sand bed. leave a little water to cover the sand and when you get home fill with the rock and water. You will have very little die off on the rock and will be just fine.

CoryC

Valuable Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0