Need help with cycling

Danroo

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hi, I’m new to the saltwater hobby and almost a month in.I started a tank (20 gallon) with fish in and bottled nitrifying bacteria with a dry rock and rinsed sand.

I had some question regarding the cycling process for my tank I did a lot of research but I’m still puzzled so I started my tank on the 24th jan and got my fish on 27th the nitrifying bacteria. The bacteria was perfectly fine but due to me not putting up the filter properly. Making it go backwards for some reason on second day my filter started going crazy the change filter light keeps blinking, and for some reason I thought it was the filter not working properly and change it entirely among all this my fish got lethargic ( two clownfish) avoided the pallets for a single week. Ordered two more fish with mysis shrimp. This is 22 February now and my fish are eating fine but the tank is still not cycled I’m still seeing ammonia. Part of my mistake was adding fritz turbo to make the ammonia and nitrites low the test was always showing ammonia and nitrites but recently I stopped adding it cause my fish were not being lethargic and test it again with my surprise no ammonia but still having nitrite and after 2 weeks same thing with lethargic behavior. So I dosed the tank with prime and now ammonia is back. Ordered Fritzzyme 9 nitrifying bacteria will this help my tank or is it just a waste of money and my tank will take longer to cycle?

Jekyl

GSP is the devil and clowns are bad pets
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
What test are you using? How much are you feeding? How much dry rock do you have? You say rinsed sand, was it new or did it come from another tank?

lapin

10K Club member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I would take the fish back to the store. You do not want to kill more fish.
There are a lot of unanswered questions
Where do you get your water?