New 92 corner

RandU

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hey guys first post of many. I just got a used 92 corner off of Craigslist. I have been running a small 6 gallon cube for 2 years. That has been running good with no issues. Because that was a small set up I know very little about filtration and lighting. I also don't remember a lot about the cycling process. So here are my questions. I don't have my live rock yet. I will be order it through BRS I was thinking of going with the reef saver dry rock. Should I fill my tank and add the live sand to get the process started or should I wait until I receive my rock? Or could I move one piece from my cube with the sand and add the rest when I get it? Also how should I set up my sump? What are the best thinking to add to it and what type of lighting does it need ? Thanks

OP
OP
RandU

RandU

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
It's not set up yet. The last couple days I cleaned the tank really well and re finished the stand and canopy.

thaitopher

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
You should probably wait to fill your tank until your liverock comes in so that you can properly aquascape your aquarium. Then once aquascaping is complete add water then cycle it by adding ammonia dead shrimp or something similar

OP
OP
RandU

RandU

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
That makes sense. I didn't think of that. Thanks

thaitopher

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
For your sump I would putt in a skimmer, chaeto and phosphate reactor at the minimum. Dont use bio balls or anything like that.

OP
OP
RandU

RandU

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
So it came with a sump, skimmer, bio balls. What is the disadvantage to using them?

thaitopher

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Your sump only needs lighting if you use macroalgae. And even then it doesn't require intense lighting

OP
OP
RandU

RandU

View Badges
Reaction score