New Avast Marine Calcium Reactor

Leishman

143gadgets' Mentor
View Badges
Joined
May 18, 2007
Messages
1,787
Reaction score
785
Location
Frederick, MD
I was lucky enough to get my hands on the yet to be release @AVAST Marine calcium reactor. My little reef is starting to plough through the two part so I made the switch.

The two chamber set up is so easy to get running. I seem to remember my set up on the old 400g system was a PITA to dial in. Not this one.

The unit is shipped with two reaction chambers, a tiny DC feed pump and an effluent flow restrictor. The pH probe (not provided) is inserted into the base of the primary chamber, next to the already mounted re-circulation pump.

The three variables, bubble count, pH and drip rate are cut to just pH management with the Apex, or any other pH controller. The drip rate consistency is achieved through a hydroponic flow restrictor. The flow is constant at low and high pressures. I will be measuring the effluent flow rate over the coming weeks/months to see if there is any restrictive build up that need to be cleared out.

I initially unhooked my two part doser and set the pH in the reactor at 6.50-6.55 My system is small, and at this low pH my dKH jumped by 1.2 overnight. Thankfully I was at the low end of my range, so no harm done. I tested every 12 hours for the next two days and settled in at a pH range of 6.95-7.00 to maintain a dKH of 8.3 I know this is relatively high for a Ca Reactor, but my display is only 80g.

Not sure when this will hit the market, or what the price point will be. All I can add is that I am a huge fan of its simplicity and function.
 
OP
Leishman

Leishman

143gadgets' Mentor
View Badges
Joined
May 18, 2007
Messages
1,787
Reaction score
785
Location
Frederick, MD

infinite0180

Well-Known Member
View Badges
Joined
Apr 25, 2018
Messages
924
Reaction score
547
The saltcreap is from me spilling water all over the place! I need to clean it up.

86E3ED31-AE3B-4AA9-B989-4605C8F9AA00.jpeg
49B80F7D-E3E6-476A-B5D4-0AD0C58DD703.jpeg

I like the idea of not having to buy a peristaltic pump to run one... any idea how much its going to cost?
 

Macdaddynick1

Valuable Member
View Badges
Joined
May 20, 2014
Messages
1,188
Reaction score
1,250
Location
Reseda, California
This looks like an a bit of an odd reactor. Did you position the pump yourself or does it come like that? It has a gate on the top but the reactor is not an up-flow reactor. Do you have to disassemble the whole thing to calibrate your ph probe? Also how do you purge the reactor to remove the air pockets at the top?
 

Crashjack

Well-Known Member
View Badges
Joined
Feb 28, 2017
Messages
700
Reaction score
568
Location
Memphis, TN suburb
That's how I have it set up. I can adjust the pH down as the need for a higher dKH effluent increases.
I guess my question is, does it have a manual way to adjust CO2 flow that runs through a small container where you count bubbles, or are you controlling your CO2 flow with your Apex, turning a solenoid on and off. I realize it could be both, but my past experiences with Ca reactors was that manually restricting CO2 flow was sort of all over the place. I'm trying to figure out if Avast is moving toward something simpler and more "automatic" (in the direction of DaStaCo, Aquarium Engineering ACR, etc.), or if it is just another calcium reactor.
 

[email protected]

Living the Reef Life
View Badges
Joined
Nov 18, 2012
Messages
28,063
Reaction score
31,653
Location
Ontario, California
Awesome!! Avast is known for the quality of their equipment. I'm sure this will be another great addition to the industry.
 

ARE YOU SATISFIED WITH THE EQUIPMENT YOU HAVE RUNNING ON YOUR REEF TANK NOW?

  • Yes I'm satisfied

    Votes: 156 43.8%
  • Somewhat satisfied but I want to add more in the future

    Votes: 170 47.8%
  • No not satisfied

    Votes: 30 8.4%

Online statistics

Members online
2,579
Guests online
7,708
Total visitors
10,287
Octo Aquatics - Custom Acrylic Products
Top