New Kessil AP9X light and need help programming the settings. This is my first saltwater tank

Nemo0729

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hello,

I just setup my first saltwater tank (90 gallon) and purchased a Kessil AP9X light. I am also a beginner to the tropical fish world. I have been trying to figure out the best schedule for my coral. I love the coral and want to get the best results. I have the following coral (listed below) Can anyone please help me figure out the best lighting intensity/schedule? Thank you!

Frogspawn
Duncan coral
Emerald green coral
Zoe coral
Tree coral

Impala67

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I would keep it about 5 to 7 inches above your tank also more blues/purple than anything else. For a schedule I usually have it come on when the sun rises and go off when the sun sets good luck

Montiman

Valuable Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I have 2 AP9x lights and really like them.

All I will tell you is that on a 90 gallon it will be really hard to go wrong with an AP9x. An 8-12 hour photo period set to whatever color you want at 75 to 100% power should be about perfect.

The key will be to set it and forget it and stop touching the light. The light is not a toy it is a lifesupport system.

What I do is add 4 points to my time schedule first one at noon with 1% intensity and 0 on all color channels. 1 point at 6pm with intensity at 100, olor at 50, violet at 100, green at 10, and red at 20. Then a point at 10pm exactly the same as point 2 and 1 point at mid night with all channels at 0.

OP
OP
N

Nemo0729

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I have 2 AP9x lights and really like them.

All I will tell you is that on a 90 gallon it will be really hard to go wrong with an AP9x. An 8-12 hour photo period set to whatever color you want at 75 to 100% power should be about perfect.