New species only mantis shrimp tank?

ZitoDragon

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hi!
I have a bit of an odd question. Mantis shrimps are my absolute favorite animals. After some preliminary research I have seen they are tough sons of nutcrackers, and might be a good animal for a complete newbie to start with.
I want to make a species only tank for a mantis shrimp. I don't care what species, all though I would love suggestions. Perhaps at some point I will try introducing one or two fish, but nothing is going in that tank that I don't fully expect to be pummeled to death by a mantis shrimp. (I have heard too many horror stories about the little buggers wiping whole tanks.)
I have a thirty gallon tank that has been used for freshwater fish in the past. (I have done very well with them and with reptiles in the past.) I need to know exactly what would be required/recommended for the shrimp tank. What lighting? Filters? Salinity? Do I need to buy live rocks/sand? What species of shrimp? Food? I'm sorry that I am a total noob. I don't currently know anyone who does saltwater, so I can't ask around, but I know what a commitment it can be. Obviously I want the cheapest setup possible, but I want my Mantis to be comfortable.

Thanks for any help!
If I've posted this to the wrong forum I am sorry.

Mark Shelly

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
The only mantis shrimp aquarium I have seen is at the Atlantic City Aquarium in NJ. It was a sparse tank with one live rock (maybe this is to make it easier to clean. I think it was a peacock mantis shrimp. But I can't confirm. I don't know the tank specifics. You should be able to use cheaper lighting that that required for corals so algae may be less of a problem. Some have been found in coastal rivers so some may be able to take a range in salinity. Many are from coral reef so regular seawater and temperatures should be good for those. Research the one you want.

IMG_3965.JPG

OP
OP
Z

ZitoDragon