New Tank Low PH

Dj A-Ron

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hi everyone, I am new to the saltwater side of the hobby but have a good amount of experience in freshwater. I actually talked my wife into letting me have both a freshwater and a saltwater aquarium in the living room which is very cool! The freshwater tank is a 44 gallon high tech planted tank with tons of plants and running CO2 injection. The saltwater tank is a 55 gallon Red Sea Reefer 250 that is in the same room about 6 feet away from the other tank and I have the sump plumbed into the basement below the living room.

I have had the saltwater tank set up for about 3 weeks and doing a fishless cycle. I have an Apex on the tank and followed all the steps to properly calibrate the probes of the Apex. Since I've had the Apex set up the PH has shown some extreme changes. At first the PH seemed to be around 7.5-7.6, I know reef tanks are supposed to sit between 7.8-8.4 so this was kind of concerning. Again, I don't have any live stock in the tank so I figured now was the time to play around and see if I could figure this out. My theory is that the CO2 that is injected into the planted tank is affecting the PH of the saltwater tank. Luckily its cooled down here in Michigan so I was able to open my windows for a whole day and the highest I seen the PH raise to was 7.88. If I close my windows in the house the PH will steadily lower back down into the the 7.5-7.6. I did try adding an air stone to the sump and watching for a couple days to see what happened. That didn't help much. Maybe just raised it by 0.02 but did seem to equalize the fluctuations a bit. I then added my skimmer to the sump just to see if the added air bubbles would oxygenate the water even more and force the CO2 out of the water. It did seem to help a little bit but not much.