New to hobby and overwhelmed with lighting options

Millie Mae

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hi all! I have been researching lighting for the past two days, much to my husband's dismay. I've really been struggling with choosing the right lighting for my tank. I am new to the hobby and recently purchased a fully stocked 54 gallon corner reef tank. The corals in the tank are soft corals and 1 lps coral. I would very much like to add an anemone at some point, but know I would need stronger lighting. The light that came with the tank is a Fluval Marine and Reef 2.0 LED, model A3993 (the 2013) version. I was hoping to add lighting vs. replacing the current LED light. I don't have a very high budget. I'd prefer not to spend more than $200, but could go to $250 if necessary. Does anyone have any recommendations? I was looking into supplementing with T5 HO, but can't seem to find many fixtures available and am confused with the watts, etc and how many I would need. Thanks in advance!!

tdileo

Valuable Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Corner tanks are a bit hard to light because of the odd dimensions. $200 is difficult to work with as well for a quality fixture but it can be done. I’m not sure of the dimensions of that tank but I would think that an OceanRevive-T247 may be your best bet for under $200.
If you want to supplement using T5 instead, you’re going to probably go with 2 fixtures that can fit 2 bulbs each. Depending on the look you like you can do a different bulb combination but I would suggest 4 ATI Blue Plus or 2 of those and 2 coral plus if you like a more white look. I can’t tell you how big of a fixture because I’m not sure of the tank dimensions.

A. grandis

2500 Club Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
My suggestion is to get a T5 only system.
ATI will give you the very best you can get for that money.
Choose the fixture that will cover the area above the tank...