New to Kalkwasser

juarec0201

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
@Randy Holmes-Farley

Don’t mean to hijack this thread. I had questions regarding the safety of kalk as I am new to it and just started dosing. Will this product cause immediate blindness or burns? I steered away from sodium hydroxide due to kiddos in the house and thought kalk was a safer alternative.

Randy Holmes-Farley

Reef Chemist
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
@Randy Holmes-Farley

Don’t mean to hijack this thread. I had questions regarding the safety of kalk as I am new to it and just started dosing. Will this product cause immediate blindness or burns? I steered away from sodium hydroxide due to kiddos in the house and thought kalk was a safer alternative.

Depends on what you mean by safer and how you use and store it. I would not want kids getting into most reef chemicals, and being sure to keep it out of your eyes is especially important.

juarec0201

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Depends on what you mean by safer and how you use and store it. I would not want kids getting into most reef chemicals, and being sure to keep it out of your eyes is especially important.
I suppose in terms of damage in severity it can cause to tissue. I was able to find many cases regarding sodium hydroxide burns but not many for calcium hydroxide. Appreciate the input. I’m gonna be a helicopter dad and vault everything including aminos:grinning-face-with-sweat:

Randy Holmes-Farley

Reef Chemist
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I suppose in terms of damage in severity it can cause to tissue. I was able to find many cases regarding sodium hydroxide burns but not many for calcium hydroxide. Appreciate the input. I’m gonna be a helicopter dad and vault everything including aminos:grinning-face-with-sweat: