New to Nano Tanks. Help me build a system Please !

427HISS

2500 Club Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hey everyone !

I'm new to these smaller tanks and would appreciate your help & advise in building a complete system.

I had several tanks back in the 90's including a 75 gal. in the wall above the TV in the living room, 40 gal. short height clam & mushroom, 200 gal. fish only and a 40 gal. mixed. I built the VHO/halide lighting, plumbing, air driven skimmers (6ft tall for the reef) & mixed my own calcium chloride with a home made drip doser's. I had to sell give away all my inhabitaints to friends and fellow reefers due to health problems, but now I want back into this very rewarding and beautiful hobby. I don't have the budget this time around, so rather than setting up my 75 reef again because of cost (for now anyway) I'm very excited about a Nano tank system. I don't see being happy with a tank under 28 gallons, because I want a fairly high fish load with soft corals.

I know we want a clown fish with a great anemone. (love,... the symbiotic relationship)
Sand on the bottom for a Goby. (again, love how they sift sand & tunnels)
Other Goby's.
Red or Blue Linckia Sea Star.
Maybe a Pygmy Angle fish.
Purple Tang (maybe too big but of my favorite fish)
Wrasse's.
Hermit carb.
Clam
Mushrooms

I'll have many questions and wanting discussion's about todays products. I realize everyone has different opinions on what products & reef keeping are best.

From researching so far, it seems that the JBJ is liked best ? (Please explain why)

At some point, I'm sure I'll add SPS corals, so I want to build a system to handle their needs the first,..... time around.

JBJ has several of the same type & gallons, but one is a Intermediate 28 gal. and a Professional 25 gal. with different lighting and watts. I assume the LED is best and for my tank, or should I go with the 105 Watt Compact Fluorescent Quad Lamp ?

Is their "all in one" system the way to go ?