New to R2R

RuneScapeReefer

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hey all, happy to finally join after lurking for a while. I'm from PA. This is the first I've actually used a forum, so I'm still learning haha. I grew up doing freshwater, with saltwater being the dream. In 2020 that dream came true; I got to a place in life where I was able to finally start. I wanted to do everything DIY just so I could have the experience, so I pulled my 46G Bow I had in storage and got to work. Single HOB overflow into 10G sump underneath. I added all my fish slowly over time; Fancy Ocellaris pair, Smith's Blenny, Yellow Watchman Goby, and a Green Clown Goby. I wanted to do FOWLR for a year first before I worked with any coral so I could get the hang of things, so a year later I decided I'd set up a softie frag tank. Wanted a challenge, so I did a 6G cube with a modded HOB filter, and a Kessil A80 TunaBlue, and AI Nero 3. A bit over 6 months later, I found myself setting up another tank.. lol. A Waterbox Peninsula Mini 25. I was able to do both of those tanks a bit faster due to having tons of various 1+ y/o seeded media in my 46's sump. Both tanks had coralline spreading within a few weeks of set-up. The coralline growth in the 25 lined up perfectly with going to my first frag swap lol. I was addicted the moment I walked in. Getting to pick out your pieces in-person of course is ten times better than online. I had an absolute blast, and I even won a frag rack in a raffle. So now that I'm up to current time, my 46G is right up on the 2-year mark. The little 6 cube coming up on 1 year, and the 25 is at a few months. That 46 is getting the craziest upgrade because right now, I have a Waterbox INFINIA 215.5 ready to take its place! Haven't told the fish yet. Aiming for a mixed reef, so they'll fit right in. The tank is on the stand, half the plumbing connected, some equipment still in the box, some I can't decide on. So it's a scattered mess at the moment