Newbie in MO

Kelly Mohr

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Good morning from the midwest US, Springfield Missouri.

I am a newbie here. Currently preparing some water, rocks and substrate in a 30 gallon hex to be transferred into a 40 gallon breeder soon. A friend is helping with the drilling and building me a sump in a 20 long. I am at the moment shopping for water movement devices, please tell me what your experience would be with water movement in a similar size tank and help direct me towards a two separate power head set up or a Gyre and why?

Kelly

crusso1993

7500 Club Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Welcome to R2R, Kelly!

tenor.gif

4FordFamily

Tang, Angel, and Wrasse Nerd!
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Welcome home, you will love it here!

I like the Gyres, especially if you wish to keep SPS because of the type of flow.

Keep us posted with your build with lots of photos! :)

OP
OP
Kelly Mohr

Kelly Mohr

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
So with a 40 being on the nano side of things and maybe wanting to have height to my aquascape once I get everything set up; I like the idea of 2-3 power heads. Mostly seeing the cost advantage. ($-$$) However an icecap 1k ($$) or a maxspect ($$$) may be much more sound an investment for the long run...

Salty Lemon

Doing my best to make waves.
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0