Now what? Nothing worked

MoshJosh

2500 Club Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 100%
1   0   0
Keep in mind I am no expert, but if it were me. . . I would get rid of a bunch of current CUC especially the snails, and replace them with emeralds and pitho crabs (and accept the risks that come with them).I would manually trim, with scissors, any long bits. I would take a firm brush and scrub every inch I could effectively scrub, I have taken rocks out of the tank for this, and run fine mechanical filtration during the process and discard it after all the algae was collected. I would also consider running a fuge of some kind with chaeto. . .

Just my thoughts

EDIT: STOP FEEDING RODS! This is just my experience, but I have tried feeding Rods on two occasions and both times stopped after having uglies pop up! Literally just had this happen! I will never feed Rods again!

Last edited:

Katrina71

Learn, Laugh, Love
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 100%
1   0   0
Mostly flakes and a few pellets I try to get down to the ywg/pistol.
About once a week I feed rods food.
I would try feeding only frozen for a couple of weeks. You may see a huge improvement.

Katrina71

Learn, Laugh, Love
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 100%
1   0   0
I also see you are dosing phosphate? I would probably stop. Jmo

MoshJosh

2500 Club Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 100%
1   0   0
I would try feeding only frozen for a couple of weeks. You may see a huge improvement.
I agree with trying feeding only frozen, that is what I do, but just based on my personal experience I would hesitate to suggest using Rods. I know there are people out there who swear by it, but there are plenty of others who prefer different frozen foods (in my experience Rods is most often compared to LRS and LRS seems to be the preferred choice). I feed Emerald Entrée, Marine Cuisine, Coral Cuisine, PE Mysis, PE calamus, and Prime Reef.

sfin52

So many pedestrians so little time
View Badges