PH and Dehumidifier? Weird Results!

Poseidon03

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Ok, hear me out. I'm an engineer so I have a decent grasp on science, but don't really understand this correlation I found.

First off, I have a 240 gallon tank in a larger room. I've had a PH swing of around 7.95-8.1 daily, and that was with kalk dosing at night. I turned my dehumidifier off and my PH changed to 7.88-8.0. I thought it was really weird because the dehumidifier only draws water out of the air, and my kalk is on a dosing pump, so it only doses so much. Extra evaporation wouldn't cause the increase. I thought it was just a fluke, but I kept the dehumidifier off for a month.

Just last night, I turned it back on and overnight the PH rose right back up. Maybe it is due to extra air movement in the room and equalizing the CO2 in the house? The tank has acrylic lids and a canopy, so I wouldn't think it would impact it like this. Also I would think a small dehumidifier wouldn't do this that well. Anyone else ever see something like this?

I'm going to see if the PH continues to be elevated this week or not. Maybe it was a fluke reading. It is weird how the PH dropped when it was turned off, though.

Screenshot_20230806-122553.png Screenshot_20230806-124107.png

OP
OP
Poseidon03

Poseidon03

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
We’re ATO volume numbers the same? Possible carbonic acid addition from standing water in ATO reservoir?
My ATO barely runs. I have a 5gal closed reservoir that I fill 1 time every 2 & 1/2 weeks or so. My kalk mix handles most of my top off (not much due to closed top, but I have an open back stand with a large sump).

Lps_lover12

Valuable Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Following this, I have a 100 gallon in my bedroom. Not a very big room and there is just me and a small dog in there at night which causes my ph to drop below 7.6 each night. I run a dehumidifier during summer when the ac is on