PH of 7.7?

Floyd-

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Im still new to the reefing stuff so now im really looking into water parameters.
I was concerned that my PH was 7.7 when checked with a Hanna checker.
This is on a JBJ45 AIO tank with 3 fish bit of various coral. I have a tiny skimmer on there but im debating taking it out because it doesnt catch much and just overflows all the time. Alk was at 7.2 the other day I tested. Water temp in the tank sadly is a bit high 81-82f most the day (FL temps)

OP
OP
Floyd-

Floyd-

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0

Randy Holmes-Farley

Reef Chemist
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
This reading (7.7) was at almost noon

Yes its the solid glass lid that came with the tank.

With a Hanna checker

Did you do a two point calibration before using it?

If accurate, there is excessive CO2 in the water, and is low enough that I would try to raise it.

FWIW, this article details a variety of ways to increase pH:

TastesLikeChicken

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I would focus on increasing your alk first (to about 9 or 10 and do it slowly over several days to weeks) and then see if your pH improves. Even if you correct pH and alk is low, the pH will drop again.

Randy Holmes-Farley

Reef Chemist
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I would focus on increasing your alk first (to about 9 or 10 and do it slowly over several days to weeks) and then see if your pH improves. Even if you correct pH and alk is low, the pH will drop again.

An alkalinity of 7.2 dKH is not low, and is not a cause of low pH. An alk of 7.2 dKH is higher than the ocean at 35 ppt salinity, and that has a pH above 8.1 at normal CO2 levels.

TastesLikeChicken

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
An alkalinity of 7.2 dKH is not low, and is not a cause of low pH. An alk of 7.2 dKH is higher than the ocean at 35 ppt salinity, and that has a pH above 8.1 at normal CO2 levels.