phosphate help!

acidtablockshifty

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
so i had a marine velvet out break after i had to add some new fish to my tank, because i failed to setup the qaurintine properly, my main tank has been running for about a year i guess. I initially started it with dry rock dry sand. I am new to the hobby of fishkeeping prior to this, and i skipped a step wich is curing the dry rock. The tank is 125 long 55gallon sump that has roughly 35 to 40 gallons water, so call it 160. it has i want say 90 pounds of rock maybee 130 i cant remember 100 pounds silica sand. I havent really kept up with testing for phosphates as i knew they were high. After i just fallowed out the tank for two months plus still going, i did a check of the water. Now i guess i should have continued doing water changes but i was honestly not sure if i was going to continue the hobby after loosing some fish i was pretty attached to. i set up an algae scrubber off my full sypion drain the side that feeds the refugium, its been running since before the outbreak still getting very dark brown/reddish algae nothing green this whole time. checked the water paramiters.

1st check of phosphates with hannah checker 1.32 ppm
salinity with refractometer 1.026
temp via hm digital 78
ph via hm digital 8.3
ammonia via api 0
nitrite via api 0
nitrate via api 0
calcium via api 440mg/l ppm

testing of top of water/ro di with hannah checker 0.08ppm phosphate

a recheck of the main tank water 0.70ppm phosphate

a recheck of that check just immediately after
basically letting the regent dissolve more 1.28ppm phosphate

a check of the well water straight from sink 0.05ppm phosphate

a recheck of that immediately after 0.21ppm phosphate

a recheck of the recheck of the check 0.04ppm phosphate