Placement of Reef Aquarium

herlin518

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hi folks,

I am new to Reef Aquariums. Actually, I am new to aquariums as a whole. So I am taking my time, doing lots of reading and research. I have a couple of other threads on this fantastic forum.

The question this time is on where to place my aquarium. I am converting a formal living room, to my reading/relaxing room. And my Reef Aquarium will be in this room. The wall I want to place the aquarium has a vent on it. It is at floor level. Can that cause problems with my aquarium? I plan on using a sump and it will be in the cabinet. So depending on the actual placement of the aquarium, this vent could be right behind the sump.

Thanks,

Herb

skinz78

10K Club member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I wouldn't place it over a vent, not only will you have issues with heat but you'll also create rust issues in the vent itself.

Bry

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Is it a supply or return? It kind of depends on your house. If that's really the location you desire you could look at closing off that vent and relocating it. Just depends on if it's fed from above or below and if you can access the ductwork in either an attic or unfinished basement. More info on where the room is in the house and if you have a basement below the room, how old the house is..

OP
OP
H

herlin518

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
That's what I was thinking Bry. The vent is a wall vent. The room also has two floor vents. And that part of the house is over the basement. The house is not that old, 1993.

Trex

Valuable Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
That's what I was thinking Bry. The vent is a wall vent. The room also has two floor vents. And that part of the house is over the basement. The house is not that old, 1993.