Power Head Question

Krawl

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Okay new to the forum and hobby so go easy. We have setup a 90gallon reef tank. So far we have 3 green damsels and just sprung for a coral beauty today.

Question is we have 2 Jabeo wave makers. Left side is a tw-25 and on the right is a tw-40. They are a little above half way up the tank. About 3" on top of the rocks. They are pointed slightly up. One pointed front and one pointed rear. They are set on else and sw1. Is this to much for the tank? Seems like the fish are having a hard time swimming in this much movement but then again I am a newb and it could be normal. Just thought the fish would be swimming and not hiding in the rocks. Any help would be great!

OP
OP
K

Krawl

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Not sure what those are or how they relate to the ones we have. Also the 40 is now making a vibrating noise that is driving us crazy. Can this harm the fish?

Diesel

ME=1, CANCER=0.
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I have no idea about these pumps what they do perform at but maybe some one at the #reefsquad can help you with this.

ReeferMaddness843

5000 Club Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I'm going to agree that's a bit overpowered for that tank. I myself have a 90 as well (4ft). Try bringing the power down a tad on those pumps.
Any corals present at the moment? Any pics of the current rockwork and arrangement available?

120reefkeeper

Reef keeping with Military Precision!
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I'd say yes too much flow. I think 2 of the rw-8 or pp-8 would be about right for a 90 gallon.

+1 on this

That's a lot of flow for a 90 . You may also have an issue with the 40 . I would take it out and try to clean it in a bucket with some vinegar and water . Might have something caught up in it .

You can try turning those pumps down .

The RW-8 would be a good choice for this size tank. [emoji4]

OP
OP