ProtoNate's 50 Gallon Cube Build

ProtoNate

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hey all,

As a grad student, I don't have a lot of money. As such, I have long been limited to a nano. I've been in the hobby for about three years, first with a 12 gallon long, and second with a 14 gallon IM Nuvo, both pictured below.

12 Gallon:

14 Gallon:

Someone broke into my car two weeks ago and stole a ton of camera equipment. Though this was a bummer, I am using the insurance money to build a new, big and bad tank, and I hope some of you will want to follow along.

The tank:

I found a decommissioned SCA 50 gallon cube with stand, sump, and a Kessil a360we for a good price locally, and I couldn't pass up the deal.

20200120_202901.jpg

Plumbing:

Plumbing is an amalgamation of what was included from the previous build, and what I could afford. I chose compression fittings because, undoubtedly, I will be moving several times in the near future and I would like to limit the amount of fittings I have to buy.

20200123_124212.jpg

Sump:

I'm attempting to mirror BRS' and WWC's modified method. This entails maintaining a refugium and bioblocks to maximize surface area for nitrifying bacteria.

The skimmer is an eshopps s-120. This will be my first attempt at running and setting a skimmer, so I am really excited.

The refugium is just the center compartment with chaeto and a 24" Marine Orbit Pro over the top. The light is scheduled to come on opposite the tank lights.

The return pump is just the crummy stock pump, for now. I hope to upgrade soon.

Sump.jpg

Rock:

For sand I went with Caribsea's Special Grade Arag-Alive because I plan to be pusing a lot of flow through the tank. For base rock, I tried Caribsea's Life Rock, since it was so cheap on Amazon ($65 for 40 lbs).

Amazon goofed and sent me THREE boxes of the stuff instead of one.

ROCK.jpg

First attempt at scapeing the tank:

First Attempt.jpg
First Attempt in Tank.jpg