Red Sea 525xl Ultra Low Maintenance Build

arking_mark

2500 Club Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hello fellow reefers. While I've been reefing for almost 30 years, this will be my 1st build thread as I build out my dream tank.

The goals for this tank are as follows:
1. Mixed reef
2. Ultra low maintenance (ULM)

Constraints:
A. Tank will be in a small 6x6 office nook
B. Closest and only accessible water will be the master bathroom

***Running decisions/build list***
1. Red Sea 525xl - best tank for space
2. Trigger Platinum 34 sump - built in roller mat for no sock maintenance
3. 3" sand bed of Caribsea Pink Fiji sand due to great grain size mix
4. Mostly NSA reefscape with some saved choice pieces from old tanks and accumulated Marco rock
5. Vortech L1 for 10x turnover - DC motor with easy wifi control and lower power consumption; easy Vortech battery backup (Turns out 525xl stock plumbing only handles about 4x turn over; my hard plumbing of return with elbows and 3/4" tubing reduced that to about 2.8x)
6. 2x ReefWave 45 Gyre wave makers - fewest pumps that can be hidden high up on back wall. Fewer pumps equals least maintenance
7. 3x Kessil a360x with arms, wifi dongle, klink connectors, and narrow reflectors - dead simple control, hidden wires, with enough par/pur for a mixed reef
8. AquaticLife Twist in compact RO/DI - easily fits under sink and easy twist replace filters.

I'll start with tank selection and why I chose the Red Sea 525XL.