Red Sea rollermat jamming.

knockout

Active Member
View Badges
Joined
Dec 1, 2007
Messages
344
Reaction score
151
Location
Mount Pocono, PA
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Yeah took mine apart, cut off the roll and disposed the dirty roll 2/3 got the left over 1/3 reset and appears to be going again, will know more tomorrow, looked like the dirty side was too heavy and crimple the mat as was being pulled
The roller is working as expected again, making a mental note: from this point forward I will remove the dirty roll at the midpoint, this should relieve the motor of added strain.
 

apb03

Active Member
View Badges
Joined
Sep 18, 2022
Messages
389
Reaction score
413
Location
Canada
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
My 1200 also fails when the roll is nearly exhausted. It seems the last two days or so on average.
 

blaxsun

10K Club member
View Badges
Joined
Dec 15, 2020
Messages
26,709
Reaction score
31,111
Location
The Abyss
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
My 1200 also fails when the roll is nearly exhausted. It seems the last two days or so on average.
Green. Painter's. Tape. You need to apply a 6-8" strip on the spool of the waste roll. Otherwise by the time you get to the end it almost always comes loose and just spins in-place.
 

apb03

Active Member
View Badges
Joined
Sep 18, 2022
Messages
389
Reaction score
413
Location
Canada
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Green. Painter's. Tape. You need to apply a 6-8" strip on the spool of the waste roll. Otherwise by the time you get to the end it almost always comes loose and just spins in-place.
Thanks for the tip, I'll give it a try next time I change my roll which is coming up in a couple of days. :)

On a side note, I dunno how folks get 6-8 weeks with these things, I'm lucky to get 4.
 

knockout

Active Member
View Badges
Joined
Dec 1, 2007
Messages
344
Reaction score
151
Location
Mount Pocono, PA
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I have had very few issues with my Red Sea equipment from tanks to devices, yes something like this issue with the roller comes up, and I've had to deal with customer service twice, once because the package did not include all the parts. They sent the part right away, once I had a pump on the ReefDose fail (I've had Kamoer pumps fail too) customer service replaced the pump without question. So no more complaints than any other vendor, I've had Neptune stuff that never worked, don't get me started with Ecotech stuff both brands... I think we need to continue to document these issues in forums like these, publically, so the manufacturers take note and build better quality equipment, we all know the pricing margins are in the 1000% range so they can afford better parts.
 

apb03

Active Member
View Badges
Joined
Sep 18, 2022
Messages
389
Reaction score
413
Location
Canada
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I've been relatively happy with my Reefmat aside from a couple of annoyances. My main gripe beyond the motor being insufficient, is that my unit refuses to connect with the reefbeat app in online mode despite connecting to my wifi fine. I am forced to use it in direct mode using an offline tank.

RedSea wouldn't be my first choice but not my last either as far as quality is concerned.
 

blaxsun

10K Club member
View Badges
Joined
Dec 15, 2020
Messages
26,709
Reaction score
31,111
Location
The Abyss
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Where do you apply it ?
I take a 6-7" strip and tape the end of the fleece to one of the red half pipes on the waste spool. When the fleece roll is finished I find I need a pair of rubber gloves (and two sets of hands) to pull it apart. One half spool should pull out without issue while the other will need to be unwound (as it's still taped). But since I've been doing this for over a year and a half, zero jams.
 

Hallowhead

2500 Club Member
View Badges
Joined
Mar 27, 2019
Messages
2,892
Reaction score
1,398
Location
New Jersey
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I take a 6-7" strip and tape the end of the fleece to one of the red half pipes on the waste spool. When the fleece roll is finished I find I need a pair of rubber gloves (and two sets of hands) to pull it apart. One half spool should pull out without issue while the other will need to be unwound (as it's still taped). But since I've been doing this for over a year and a half, zero jams.
I'll definitely try this
 

blaxsun

10K Club member
View Badges
Joined
Dec 15, 2020
Messages
26,709
Reaction score
31,111
Location
The Abyss
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I'll definitely try this
It's literally night and day. The fleece doesn't slip and even if it goes on slightly crooked (which happens sometimes) it still spools away without missing a beat.
 

aliens172

New Member
View Badges
Joined
Dec 20, 2012
Messages
2
Reaction score
0
Location
canada
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
mine is doing the exact same thing. Even with no load on the cog/motor it gets jammed. I think im having an issue with the motor not being powerful enough or the motor it self has an issue.
B3E22B8B-D89F-4A88-AF12-C219306ED5F2.jpeg
I just happen to me about a week ago red sea send me a replacement drive reef mat 500 it been 24 hrs still good
 

Reefer_kano

Valuable Member
View Badges
Joined
Jun 27, 2022
Messages
1,133
Reaction score
1,972
Location
Lehigh Valley
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
My 500 started "jamming" about a week ago with no actual jams.

I noticed that the gears weren'tmoving even on manual.

I contacted red sea and they asked for a short video, I sent it to them.
They said that the motor its self might have gone bad but didn't have a replacement motor so the are sending me a new drive unit.

I just bought the 1200 for the new tank, I hope this doesn't happen right of way.
I didn't know that the 1200 had the same size motor as the 500.
 

InactionJackson

Active Member
View Badges
Joined
Feb 7, 2023
Messages
211
Reaction score
129
Location
Pembroke
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
My 500 started "jamming" about a week ago with no actual jams.

I noticed that the gears weren'tmoving even on manual.

I contacted red sea and they asked for a short video, I sent it to them.
They said that the motor its self might have gone bad but didn't have a replacement motor so the are sending me a new drive unit.

I just bought the 1200 for the new tank, I hope this doesn't happen right of way.
I didn't know that the 1200 had the same size motor as the 500.
I cleaned the middle part that you pull out when you change the roll, and I make sure it’s not tight when I re install it….
 

Reefer_kano

Valuable Member
View Badges
Joined
Jun 27, 2022
Messages
1,133
Reaction score
1,972
Location
Lehigh Valley
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I cleaned the middle part that you pull out when you change the roll, and I make sure it’s not tight when I re install it….
Ok, I always clean up that part because of all the build up that it gets.
The motor for the drive just went bad I guess
 

Welcoming coral to your home!!! How do you add coral to your tank?

  • Move the coral from the bag and place it directly into the display tank.

    Votes: 14 10.5%
  • Dip process before placing the coral into the display tank.

    Votes: 86 64.7%
  • Acclimate before placing the coral into the display tank.

    Votes: 18 13.5%
  • Move the coral from the bag and place it directly into the quarantine tank.

    Votes: 0 0.0%
  • Dip process before placing the coral into the quarantine tank.

    Votes: 8 6.0%
  • Acclimate before placing the coral into the quarantine tank.

    Votes: 3 2.3%
  • Other.

    Votes: 4 3.0%
Back
Top