Reef help

Jcloer85

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
So this is a 2 parter question. I am new to saltwater. Tank has been up since September and just now adding coral.
Does Kenyan tree coral help with filtration?
Do I need to run blue lights all the time or white?

ISpeakForTheSeas

5000 Club Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Welcome to Reef2Reef!

I wouldn't expect a Kenya Tree (or really any coral) to help with filtration.

Blue and white light will both grow corals just fine as long as they have enough PAR (and a decent spectrum for the white light - if you have a typical reef lighting fixture, the spectrum should be fine). You can do just white, just blue, or both (either together or alternating).

White light shows off fish and invert colors well, and blue light shows off coral fluorescence well; a lot of people like to run both at different points throughout the day, or to run a white light that is heavy on the blue spectrum (white light is actually a combination of different colors [wavelengths] of light, so it typically has blue, red, green, yellow etc.; a heavy blue white light would be a "white" light that has a lot of blue in the mix - again, most reef-oriented lights have this sort of spectrum).

OP
OP
J

Jcloer85

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Welcome to Reef2Reef!

I wouldn't expect a Kenya Tree (or really any coral) to help with filtration.

Blue and white light will both grow corals just fine as long as they have enough PAR (and a decent spectrum for the white light - if you have a typical reef lighting fixture, the spectrum should be fine). You can do just white, just blue, or both (either together or alternating).