refractometer

ruggirello2

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I didn't calibrate my refractometer for like 4 months and it was way off. When I finally calibrated it, it was 8 points off. I thought my salinity was at 1.026, but it was actually at 1.018. all of my corals and fish are doing fine. How fast should I raise it up.

yellojello

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I'm a rookie, and a few weeks ago, I made a similar mistake of low salinity, and added the salt directly to the sump to raise it up... not good! Remember to make the saltwater separately and do as a water change. luckily I had nothing in the tank but button polyps.

I'm guessing you should bring it up slowly, but not sure how fast either. I'm sure someone with more expertise can chime in.

revhtree

Owner Administrator
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 100%
1   0   0
Raise it slow!!! If they are fine now, then they will be fine to wait as the salinity is raised. I would mix some high salt content top off water and do it that way. I have done it this way as well.

Kbra

Valuable Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
18 to 20 should be just fine and then your in the "safe zone" again. So just get it to 20 then slowly add to where u wanna be over a couple weeks

_Alex_

Valuable Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
yes but remember dont always use saltwater as top off! if u do eventually your salinaty will go threw the roof.

just use salt water till u get it where u want it and as it evaporates use ro- water to top it off, once u get it straightened out u can keep it right about the same spot by topping off every day or 2 and then your salanity will be alot more stable.

RBursek

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0